Who’s really a friend?

Today, we have Facebook friends, Twitter , and many social media networks. Real face to face time with people diminish very quickly. Who would you consider a true friend ? Sometimes we wonder what is their angle or motive? Can I trust them? We learn over time to protect ourselves from emotional pain. Friendship can be enriching and provide love, laughter and support.

I was watching an episode of, “When Calls the Heart” based on Janet Okie book. The main character is a young female school teacher in a Canadian coal mining town in 1900’s. She is writing  about friendships and who to trust.  She wrote because it was a profound statement. “Yet so much of what matters in life is based on trust, remembering to trust God. Discerning which people are worthy of our trust. For when we place our hearts, our lives into someone else’s hands, it is an act of faith. It requires courage and hope, but it’s worth the risk. Because it is trust that brings us love”.

My very first pastor said, “My only friend is Jesus because as people we let each other down man”. (He was from California). As a new christen I was puzzled by that, but now “I can relate dude”.  Look at the disciples of Jesus. They all hated Matthew who had worked for the Romans. Then were the 9 jealous of Peter, James and John? Even the disciples asked Jesus, what will they get for following Jesus?

Matthew 19:27-30

New International Version (NIV)

27 Peter answered him, “We have left everything to follow you! What then will there be for us?”

28 Jesus said to them, “Truly I tell you, at the renewal of all things, when the Son of Man sits on his glorious throne,you who have followed me will also sit on twelve thrones, judging the twelve tribes of Israel. 29 And everyone who has left houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or wife[a] or children or fields for my sake will receive a hundred times as much and will inherit eternal life. 30 But many who are first will be last, and many who are last will be first.

We all make mistakes in many things. Relationships can be as fragile as “Cinderella’s glass shoe”. A misunderstanding , a misunderstood word or ” fill in the blank” can break a friendship or trust. The phrase, “like a bull in a china shop” , certainly applies to myself  when it comes to relationships. Over time, you  may get a chance to repair it. Reconciliation happens and  healing takes place in.Sometimes you need a bull for a friend. They will not stop trying to repair the damage. They tell you the truth when others just tell you what you want to hear. They will try their best but will make more mistakes.

I have been struggling in my relationship with God. I have Lou Gehrig’s Disease and I don’t like it. The one I should trust in I have kept at arm’s distance. Jesus Christ said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you “Hebrews 13:5” He never promised a life without pain, or everything would go smoothly. He just said he is our forever friend. Just like we forgive our earthly friends, in the same way my mind must find a way to forgive God.  Some who read that and gasp! That is the best way my small brain can relate. Maybe it will help someone who reads this.

I have started to trust and talk to God again. I know God loves me, and has a plan for my life even when I don’t understand or agree. But I have to try to have intimate relationship with Jesus. If I can not trust him, then really, “Who’s really a friend ?

Wayne Lampe

Imagejoshua

Initial Idea & Start Of Website Websites was created in 2007 by Wayne Lampe. I was diagnosed with A.L.S. in January 2006. I attended my only advocacy day in Washington D.C. that May. I saw courage, strength and broken hearts. There were tears and total commitment to their loved ones .Everyone there desperate for a physical cure. Many were in advanced stages of the disease, but their minds were very Sharpe. Most people with A.L.S. die within 3 to 5 years. Many people I met shared the same faith in God. I saw no other Websites devoted to A.L.S. and faith . A few months before being diagnosed , I was seriously considering starting a non-combinational church. My daughter was seven years old. One person suggested that I make recordings for her in the future. That is when I got the idea to make video lessons with biblical teachings. I started in "The book of Job"It explores many big questions in life. Teaching in children's ministry has made me remember to keep things simple and amusing. You might ask, " How do you make pain and suffering funny. Watch the Job lessons and see. I was born in New York and raised in the Catholic faith. I went to church, but it really did not make a difference in my life. I knew Jesus Christ died on the cross to forgive us of our sins. I had no real relationship with God. I joined the Air Force and got married in 1981. Other than being married in church, I had not thought about God. Then in 1987, my dad died. It was the first time I had to deal with death. At the wake, I knew that was the real him laying there. I knew it was just a physical shell. The real spirit and soul was someplace else, but where? I started my search going back to Catholic Church. I remember seeing a comedy movie called "Defending Your Life". It was supposed to show what happened after you die. I know now there were many things wrong in the movie, but for me it was a starting point of seeking God. Then one morning I turned on an AM station and heard, Chuck Smith and The Word for the Day. He described the bible in a simple way. I still was not sure how to know him. Another speaker came on named Greg Laurie. He preached on" How to Know God and Make Him Known". He preached the gospel, and how to accept Jesus Christ as my savior and be forgiven of my sins and know I am going to heaven. On October 30th, 1994 I made that decision. October 1995, my wife accepted Jesus at a Harvest Crusaded in (By Greg Laurie and Calvary Chapel Ft Lauderdale) at Spring Training Yankee Stadium. Most of his ministry service has been with teaching children and youth. His bible knowledge is influenced by Calvary Chapel Costa Mesa. His passion is for people to grow spiritually through learning the Word. He started a web site to help encourage others with ALS. These are family orientated and in 30 minute lessons. He uses both audio and visual presentation for easier understanding of the scriptures.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Spiritual Encouragement

Leave a Reply

